Students Preventing Unintentional Drowning (S.P.U.D.) Clubs

The Florida Department of Health in Broward County partners with Broward County Public Schools on an initiative known as: Students Preventing Unintentional Drownings (S.P.U.D.).

S.P.U.D. are implemented as clubs with our participating schools. Students can gain advocacy and leadership skills while educating their peers on the importance of water safety. Some examples of projects the students complete are presentations, beach clean-ups, and water safety advocacy. There are currently nine S.P.U.D. clubs operating in Broward County middle and high schools. The schools we partner with are:

  1. Rickards Middle School
  2. Silver Trail Middle School
  3. Glades Midde School
  4. Sawgrass Springs Middle School
  5. Ramblewood Middle School
  6. Lauderhill 6-12 STEM-MED Magnet School
  7. Atlantic Technical High School
  8. JP Taravella High School
  9. Gulfstream Academy

For more information on becoming a S.P.U.D. club, contact Kayla Pryce at